Competition now open! You could win funding for a new youth-led AMR awareness campaign. Find out more and apply here

The University of Oxford bestows honorary Doctorate on Dame Sally Davies

The University of Oxford awards honorary degrees for Encaenia 2021

Dame Sally Davies, Master of Trinity College, Cambridge, and former Chief Medical Officer for England, has been awarded an honorary Doctor of Science degree at the University of Oxford's Encaenia Ceremony earlier today.



Recipients L-R are: Professor Anna Deavere Smith, Professor at New York University Tisch School of the Arts and award-winning actress, playwright; Baroness Ruth Lister CBE, Emeritus Professor of Social Policy at Loughborough University; Professor Linda Colley CBE, award-winning professor of History; Professor Louise Richardson, Vice Chancellor Oxford University; Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton, former First Lady of the United States of America & Secretary of State; Professor Dame Sally Davies, Master of Trinity College, Cambridge, and former Chief Medical Officer for England; and Jeanette Winterson CBE, award-winning author.

The ceremony, which included the traditional, public procession to the Sheldonian Theatre, resumed this year after being cancelled in 2020 due to the global pandemic.

Professor Louise Richardson, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford, and Chair of the Committee on Honorary Degrees, said: 'I am delighted that this year’s honorands have joined us for this year’s Encaenia ceremony. All honorands have made remarkable contributions in fields spanning international relations, the arts and sciences, and exemplify the University’s own commitment to excellence. The ceremony is also our first in-person event of the academic year, and is a welcome sign that life at the University is returning to normal.’


Images: Ian Wallman for the University of Oxford; Ray Harrington/Unsplash; SJPrice/Pixabay